The Journey- A Poem

Author’s note:

This poem was inspired by the short story “Footprints.” I’m sure you’ve all read it. But this is my personal twist… 

I wrote this during church one day as a teenager, and it came from my heart.

I hope you can feel the same love and hope that I felt as I wrote it. 

Let us take a metaphorical look at the journey we call life…


The Journey

This road that I walk is many miles long,

And the mountains it crosses are tall.

Though straight, it’s narrow and I walk along,

Many times feeling quite small.

I see that each step has a twin by its side,

Though only one step was what I put down.

On the way up a mountain or hill it is gone,

But it appears when I make my way down.

I wonder who makes these footprints by my side,

And leaves me when times get hard.

I plan to ask at my journey’s end,

For then I might speak to the Lord.

 

I have stumbled and slipped and I’ve brushed myself off.

Hardships striking me, mile after mile.

But the view of the progress I have made over time

Makes me think it’s all worthwhile.

Still my heart pangs deep as I struggle alone

Wondering if peace is what I’ll ever find.

But a thought keeps pushing me to follow things through,

when I see those steps left behind.

 

For I see that each step has a twin by its side,

Though only one step was what I put down.

On the way up a mountain or hill it is gone,

But it appears when I make my way down.

I wonder who makes these footprints by my side,

And leaves me when times get hard.

I plan to ask at my journey’s end,

For then I might speak to the Lord.

 

Then I make one last step and He comes into view.

His face somehow turned towards mine.

I know it’s my Savior and joy fills my heart

To think He’s come to greet me

And I cry.

After tears have been dried, He looks into my eyes,

And asks me what I want to know.

“Who made those many footprints by my side,

And left me when I needed them most?”

“My dear child, it was I,” He said in reply.

“And I was there every step that you knew.

And those times when you thought you were all alone,

That was when I carried you.”

 

Now I know that each step of the way He was there,

Always waiting to help me in need.

And those footprints up the mountains

Were not mine at all.

That was when He carried me.

-Madeline 2010